Couch to 5K Challenge: Week 3 (Late) Recap

Posted: March 8, 2012 in News, Sports
Tags: , , , ,

First off, apologies for getting this post up so late in the week. It’s been very busy lately, so I’ve been hard-pressed to get this post done. Rest assured though that I am still in the challenge and have no intentions of stopping now!

Courtesy of Fox

Week 3 Day 1: Run 1.5 minutes, walk 1.5 minutes; run 3 minutes, walk 3 minutes x2

This week the program actually takes a bit of  a step back, as even though I’m running the same cumulative amount of time the workouts are actually a bit shorter due to the reduced reps. It’s too bad I didn’t realize this on the first run of the week, because I went back to the big lake and was done exercising after about 1.75 miles. That left me with another full mile to walk and then some, so I vastly overestimated the workout. Sadly the only other viable jogging option I have is running around my apartment complex, and that’s considerably less fun.

Week 3 Day 2: Same routine

Today was not going to be a fun day; Barbara had a sore knee and I slightly strained a hamstring so both of us are hurting. We opted to run around our apartment complex, and as I predicted it was not fun. Between the different route and the pain in my leg my mile splits were way off from the week before, and I’m not very happy with how the week is going so far. Barbara managed to complete the run but her knee wasn’t feeling great afterwards.

Week 3 Day 3: Same routine

It’s too bad we had such a bad jog around the apartment complex Thurs because we’re going to be forced to run it again today. The entire lake we’ve been running at was closed all weekend for a yachting regatta (the 1% ruin it for the rest of us yet again), so we were stuck. I had another slow day and even though Barbara’s knee is feeling a bit better it still wasn’t great. The important thing is we made it through the week, so that’s a win.

The takeaway here is I run like a girl.

Overall I have to admit that this was a rather disappointing week, but I suppose you’ll have that from time to time. The next batch of runs are a bit longer and feel more like actual distance training, so I’m looking forward to putting these short, slow runs behind me. Also, we can head back to the lake next week, which will help out quite a bit in terms of pacing and just generally keeping things interesting. If anyone else is out there participating in the program know that it’s ok to have a week where things feel a bit off, just keep after it and it’ll improve.

Leave a Reply

